Romayne C. Brown

Metra Chair

Ms. Brown will address the vital need to enhance and improve transportation in an area that is more transit-dependent and economically disadvantaged than other parts of the region.

Appointed to the Metra Board of Directors by Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle in September 2013, Ms. Brown was first elected Vice Chair of the Metra Board in October 2016 and was elected Chair of the Board in September 2020. She brings more than 30 years of operational and customer service experience to her role with the agency.

James M. Derwinski

CEO/Executive Director, Metra

Mr. Derwinski will explain the overall impact of the Initiative – enhancing service to Chicago’s South Side and south suburban communities and the economic impact on jobs and infrastructure.

As CEO/Executive Director, Mr. Derwinski oversees one of the nation’s largest, busiest, and most complex commuter rail systems. Metra, which has 242 stations, 11 routes, and some 1,200 miles of track, serves as a vital link among the communities of northeast Illinois and is an economic engine that extends far beyond its service area.

Janice R. Thomas

Deputy Executive Director, External Affairs

Ms. Thomas will address the planned renovations at the 13 Metra Electric stations and key improvements Metra is making to enhance rider comfort and convenience.

As Deputy Executive Director, External Affairs, Ms. Thomas is a key strategic advisor of Metra CEO/Executive Director, James M. Derwinski. She is responsible for directing and managing the capital project delivery, government affairs, marketing, communications and community relations teams for the agency.